Friday, February 10, 2006

New Citizens Advisory Committee chairman

Ron Robinson, [shown at left] former Chairman and CEO of the Little Rock-based advertising/marketing agency Cranford Johnson Robinson Woods, has been appointed to chair the Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee.

Robinson was first appointed to the Committee in 1993. From 1997 to 2002, he served as Stamp Subject Subcommittee Chair. Robinson succeeds Committee chairman Dr. C. Douglas Lewis, who left the Committee in October after 26 years of dedicated service.

According to a USPS press release, Robinson's relationship with the world of stamp collecting extends more than half a century. He has been an active member of the American Philatelic Society, American First-Day Cover Society and the Universal Ship Cancellation Society since 1978. In 1979 he was a founder and first president of Arkansas' largest stamp society, the Pinnacle Stamp Club of Little Rock.

As chair of the Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee-which annually reviews thousands of stamp suggestions before making 20 to 25-subject recommendations-Robinson's role is to lead the 15-member Committee, whose backgrounds reflect a wide range of educational, artistic, historical and professional credentials.

For more on the Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee, click here.
Bookmark and Share
posted by Don Schilling at 12:01 AM