Thursday, May 18, 2006

Katherine Anne Porter

The first-day-of-issue ceremony for the new Katherine Anne Porter stamp was held this week in Kyle, Texas, where Porter grew up.

Shown unveiling the stamp in a USPS photo are (from left): Texas State University-San Marcos President Dr. Denise Trauth, Porter’s nephew Paul Porter, USPS Governor Carolyn Gallagher and recently retired USPS Vice President George Lopez.

Artist Michael Deas of Brooklyn Heights, NY, did the portrait of Porter which was based on a 1936 photograph made by George Platt Lynes. Deas has done a number of other U.S. stamps including Marilyn Monroe, Humphrey Bogart and Cary Grant in the Legends of Hollywood series.

According to a USPS press release, "By including a ship in the design, Deas links Porter’s portrait to the sea voyage that inspired her best-selling novel Ship of Fools and to her assessment of life, which she called “this brave voyage.”

Porter received the 1966 Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award for The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter. Porter died in 1980.

For more on Katherine Anne Porter, click here.
Bookmark and Share
posted by Don Schilling at 12:01 AM