Saturday, September 22, 2007

Citizens’ Stamp Advisory Committee (CSAC) celebrates its 50th Anniversary

USPS's NewsLink reports the Citizens’ Stamp Advisory Committee (CSAC) was created
in 1957 by then Postmaster General Arthur Summerfield in an effort "to encourage citizen involvement in postal policy."

Since then the CSAC has been tasked with evaluating the merits of all stamp proposals. Approximately 50,000 suggestions are received each year.

According to the USPS, the committee provides a "breadth of judgment and depth of experience in various areas that influence subject matter, character and beauty of postage stamps." Committee members are appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the Postmaster General and is composed of a maximum of 15 members.

Over the years, its members have included such well-known Americans as artist Andrew Wyeth, novelist James Michener, actor Karl Malden and sports commentator Richard “Digger” Phelps.

CSAC Chairman Ronald Robinson is quoted as saying, “More than 3,000 stamps reflecting the diversity, history and culture of this great nation have been developed under CSAC’s guidance, resulting in a stamp program that’s considered one of the world’s greatest.”

Shown above, in a USPS photo, are current CSAC members [from left] Chairman Ron Robinson, Donna de Varona, Sylvia Harris, David Eynon, Michael Heyman, Jessica Helfand, Jean Firstenberg, Martin Pedersen, Joan Mondale, Benjamin Bailar and Cary Brick. Other members, not pictured, include John Hotchner, James Mih and Henry Louis Gates Jr.

For more on the Citizens’ Stamp Advisory Committee, click here.
Bookmark and Share
posted by Don Schilling at 12:01 AM