Friday, February 22, 2008

Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings honored on US commemorative

The United States has issued a 41-cent stamp honoring author, Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings.

According to a USPS press release, "Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings joins her friends Ernest Hemingway, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Zora Neale Hurston and a host of other literary immortals as the latest inductee into the U.S. Postal Service’s Literary Arts commemorative stamp series."

Her best known work, The Yearling, is about a boy who adopts an orphaned fawn. It won a Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 1939 and was later made into a movie.

The Postal Service’s Literary Arts series was introduced in 1979 with the issuance of the John Steinbeck stamp. Other inductees, in chronological order, include: Edith Wharton, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Herman Melville, T.S. Eliot, William Faulkner, Ernest He mingway, Marianne Moore, William Saroyan, Dorothy Parker, James Thurber, Tennessee Williams, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Thornton Wilder, Stephen Vincent Benét, Ayn Rand, Thomas Wolfe, Ogden Nash, Zora Neale Hurston, James Baldwin, Robert Penn Warren, Katherine Anne Porter and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.

Shown above, from left, Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Historic State Park Manager Valerie Rivers, Florida State Parks Department Policy Coordinator Dana Bryan, USPS General Counsel Mary Anne Gibbons, Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Society Founding Member Phil May, Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings confidante and protégé “Jake” Glisson, and USPS Stamp Services Manager David Failor.

For more on Marjorie K. Rawlings (1896-1953) and the dedication ceremony at her Cross Creek, FL, Home, click here.
Bookmark and Share
posted by Don Schilling at 12:00 AM