Tuesday, July 17, 2012

William H. Gross Stamp Gallery Breaks Ground

The Auction Central News website reports, "The Smithsonian’s National Postal Museum has begun construction of the William H. Gross Stamp Gallery. When completed, the gallery will be the world’s premier museum gallery dedicated to philately. Scheduled to open in September 2013, the gallery will enable the museum to reach its full potential by dramatically increasing the collection’s visibility, advancing its educational mission and reinvigorating public interest in philately."

According to the site, "Named after its primary benefactor, the William H. Gross Stamp Gallery will provide an experience available nowhere else and will offer something for everyone, from casual visitors to experienced collectors. As visitors move through six thematic areas, stunning displays and interactive moments will reveal the stories that unfold from the museum’s unparalleled collection. Distributed throughout the thematic areas will be hundreds of pullout frames containing more than 20,000 objects, providing ample opportunities to view noteworthy stamps that have never been on public display."

Groundbreaking ceremony attendees last month included representatives from the Smithsonian Institution, National Postal Museum's Council of Philatelists, U.S. Postal Service and Clark Construction. 

Attendees included: Front row (left to right): Karen Bertha, Glen Hopkins, Daniel Piazza, Stephen Kearney, Charles Shreve, Donald Sundman, Albert Horvath, Allen Kane, Richard Kurin, Cheryl Ganz, Wade Saadi; Back row (some partial view): Bruce Kendall, Vince King, Gordon Eubanks, Trish Kaufmann, Robert Rose, Roger Brody, Omar Rodriguez, Steven Rod, Janet Klug, David Straight, May Day Taylor, Robert Odenweller, Mary Ann Bowman, Michael Aldrich, Sonny Hagendorf, James Kloetzel, David Herendeen, Liz Hisey, John Hotchner; Back row (partial or hidden view): Ian Gibson-Smith, Tom Lera, Marv Murray

For more on this story, click here.
Bookmark and Share
posted by Don Schilling at 12:01 AM