Wednesday, August 25, 2010

APS StampShow 2010 Winners

Richard C. Malmgren’s exhibit on Hawaiian Postage Stamps won the World Series of Philately Champion of Champions at APS StampShow 2010 held August 12–15 in Richmond , Virginia . The exhibit, focuses on the purpose, design, production and usage of postage stamps issued by three successive Hawaiian governments — the Kingdom of Hawaii , the Provisional Government, and the Republic of Hawaii .

Since 1968, the World Series of Philately (WSP) competition has consisted of Grand award winners from national stamp shows held in the United States from July to June the previous year. This year’s competition welcomed the inclusion of two Grand award winners from Canadian National shows as well.
The StampShow 2010 Grand award winner — Carrier Service in the Major U.S. Cities 1842–1863, by Larry Lyons — is eligible to compete for the WSP Champion of Champions at StampShow 2011, to be held in Columbus, Ohio. Vince King’s exhibit, Texas During the Confederate Period, How Mail Was Handled 1861–1865, won the Reserve Grand award.

The most popular exhibit, taken by a vote of show attendees, was won by Brian, Maria & Alexander Green for their family exhibit Confederate Postal History, CSA Generals’ Mail 1861–65. This award is sponsored by the National Stamp Dealers Association.

Shown above, Richard C. Malmgren (right) receives his award from Wade Saadi, APS President.

To view a complete list of winners, click here.
Bookmark and Share
posted by Don Schilling at 12:01 AM